The 47th Kirkwood Memorial Golf Tournament Summary

The 47th Annual Kirkwood Golf Tournament was played at Stowe Country Club last week. The event drew 144 players again this year, playing in two-man teams. The weather was exceptionally friendly and the course conditions were excellent. Superintendent Scott Rossi and his crew worked magic to get the greens in shape after the tough winter. The Stowe Country Club staff, led by Ron Philo, Director of Golf, and club manager, Josh Nicholls, were perfect hosts. The Kirkwood committee, chaired by Scot Baraw, organizes the tournament each year, started in 1967 by the club professional, Joe Kirkwood. Stowe Junior Golf is the beneficiary of the tournament. Nine youngsters were awarded club memberships this summer.

Thursday’s better-ball qualifying round resulted in playoffs for the lowest gross and net scores. The Jeff Hadley Cup (low gross) was won by Scott Holbrook and Kevin VandenBerg over Andy Donatello and Andy Light with a score of 67. The Stan-Marc Wright Trophy was won by John Galle and John Ready over Fred Bashara and Doug Teetor with net 62. Jeff Hadley was a pro at SCC; Stan-Marc Wright, a club founder.

Two players had a Hole-in-One; Bill Bond #15 on Saturday; Mark Severance #4 on Sunday.

The seventy-two teams are divided into nine flights based on the qualifying scores. Match play within the flights of eight teams make the weekend competitive for the entire field. The complete results are available on the Kirkwood Tournament web-site,

The 2014 Joe Kirkwood Champions are Scott Holbrook and Kevin VandenBerg, besting Andy Donatello and Andy Light. The runners-up are awarded the Stu Baraw Sr. Trophy. The winners are added to the champion’s plaque that adorns the clubhouse dining room wall.

The flight final results –

First Flight winners are awarded the Larry Swanson Memorial Trophy – Sal Vespa and Phil Amell won over Bruce Emerson and Shawn Goodell.

2nd – GL Harvie and Jon Landry over Steve McCartney and Bill Meckert in extra holes.

3rd – Bill Schaaf and Tim Schaaf over Bob Davison & Danny Andrade.

4th – Bill Bond and John Colburn over Tom Kristiansen and Jim Mogan.

5th – Tom Burgess III and Chris Mancini over Jimmy Garfinkle and Cary Weiss.

6th – Tom Bonnette and James Carroll over Tim Halvorson and Dennis Wells.

7th – Lee Burgess and Pete Sakash over Lynn Altadonna and Chris Altadonna.

8th – Ed Stahl and Reid Williams over Norm Fromm and Steven Jones.

Comments are closed.